Bach to the Future

8 April 2018
  • 13:30
  • £12

After the success of their Bach Cello Suites marathon in December at Hinde Street Methodist church, a group of dynamic young cellists present two of the most glorious and groundbreaking suites, the fourth and the sixth, alongside Ligeti’s early sonata for solo cello, complemented by Popper’s luscious Requiem and two short lyrical works by Saint-Saëns and Dvořák in a brand new arrangement for cello sextet. A glass of wine is included in the ticket price!


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Cello Suite No. 4 in E-flat major, BWV 1010


György Ligeti (1923-2006)

Sonata for Solo Cello


David Popper (1843-1913)

Requiem, Op. 66




Johann Sebastian Bach

Cello Suite No. 6 in D major, BWV 1012


Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)

"Mon cœur s'ouvre à ta voix" from Samson and Delilah (new arrangement for cello sextet)


Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)

Silent Woods, Op. 68 (new arrangement for cello sextet)


Tickets £12 available here

Some proceeds from this event will go to WAC Arts, a charity who provides high quality performing arts and media training for young people who would otherwise be denied access. For more info see here.