Burgh House

Built in 1704, Burgh House is a grade-1 listed Queen Anne house, situated in the heart of Hampstead Village. A private residence for most of its life, in 1937 its last residents moved out and the house was left unoccupied until 1946. Turned into a community centre by Hampstead Borough Council, the house eventually fell into disrepair and was closed indefinitely. In 1979, a group of local residents saved the house and it was eventually leased to the newly formed charity, the Burgh House Trust as a space for the local community.

Today, Burgh House is an independent, self-funding charity and a dynamic space for art, events and history. Our purpose is to provide a welcoming space where everyone can discover the rich heritage of Hampstead, through engaging with our collection and participating in a diverse programme of cultural events including exhibitions, talks, concerts and workshops.

Burgh House is also an accredited museum which contains a fascinating collection of objects relating to the history of the house, the local area and its extraordinary residents. The collection was created as an amateur museum by Christopher and Diana Wade in 1979. Since then, the collection has grown to almost 5000 objects, thanks to many generous donations from the public, local institutions and artists.